Six Sentence Sunday 8/12/12

Last week I contributed for the first time to Six Sentence Sunday, and Maddie Cochere, author of the Susan Hunter Mystery series commented “…Hopefully, we will find out more in weeks to come.”  In answer to her question, last week’s post was the second to last paragraph of the unpublished novel Through a Stranger’s Eyes, so here is the last paragraph of the novel, where Dave and Breen dance:

********************************************************

We danced that afternoon and into the night.  We shared an inner music that
ushered in morning’s light.  Now sitting on the living room floor, her back against my chest, my legs hugging hers, we watched the shadow play on the wall as the sun was born between the branches of the dogwood tree in the front yard.  Breen took my arms and pulled them closer around her waist and whispered, “love can never come too late.”  I drew her closer and kissed her neck.  Il silenzio di un bacio vale piu di mille parole.

(From Through a Stranger’s Eyes, a work of fiction, copyright 2005, Steven S. Walsky, all rights reserved.)

*******************************************************

Nevertheless, I am sure I can find a few more posts out of the novel’s 83,000 words (actually, some of the flash fiction posted on this site has been adapted from them).

Please check out all the contributors to Six Sentence Sunday.

12 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday 8/12/12

  1. Oh lovely. Very vivid descriptions and tender emotions.

    I don’t know Italian but have a nodding acquaintance with Latin so I’m guessing that it’s “The silence of a kiss is worth a thousand words”?

    • Thank you. Very good. All the romantic, passionate, desire filled words and actions are important, but it is that one, special kiss that speaks the truth of the heart…that can not lie.

  2. I loved your six last week. The dove softly cooing a song was so pretty. And now this! Absolutely beautiful ending. Very nice, Steven. Of course, I had to find a translator. “The silence of a kiss is worth more than a thousand words.” Really lovely.

    • Thank you once again. The story deals with two people who’s lives come together for a second time after years of no contact, now both are single again and they want to know if the emotions they feel for each other are ‘everlasting‘ or just out of need. The foundation of the novel: “Need is when you reach out in the middle of the night to touch the woman laying next to you; the need to reassure yourself she is still there. Want…it’s desperately wanting to be there next to her, to be the only man she reaches out for.”

      • Sensitive? Sometimes; more of a clumsy romantic 🙂 I was sitting at the kitchen table thinking about how to say the difference between need vs. want in human terms, and not the cold way it had been expressed, i.e., “You need me to pay the bills, you need me to be in the house at night because you do not want to be alone…” And eventually I wrote those words, but I kept on writing, until – 83,000 words later – I understood and believed.

      • Most women would enjoy a clumsy romantic. 😉 Love how you came to write need/want the way you did. I looked around your blog, but didn’t see – is Simplicity Lane published?

      • Thank you. Simplicity Lane is copyrighted but not published; in fact, the draft posted on this blog needs lots of editing. Until recently I did not have the time to devote to getting it published, nor was I looking to earn money from the work. So, like my 1,000 word flash fiction and poetry, the www (this blog and poetry and writing web sites) has allowed me a world-wide readership, which is very satisfying. I am now writing a novel I do want to publish.

Leave a Reply

