Words from people’s mouths…(Chanukah candy)

wfpm

The ‘sparks’ of life that can ignite one’s writing mind.

I was invited to an early Christmas/ Holiday gathering of friends on 8 December for hors d’œuvre and talk.  Being the first day of Chanukah I thought it would be nice to bring some Chanukah candy.  Unfortunately, while I found Chanukah napkins, dreidels, and candles, candy seemed to have disappeared.  Someone suggested that I go to a store that specialized in items from around the world.

Me: (I explain the ‘why and what’ of needing Chanukah candy.)

Saleswoman (About 40 years old, nicely dressed, seemed educated): We are all out of those gold wrapped chocolate coins from Israel.

Me: Do you expect a shipment before the 8th?

Saleswoman: I have no idea. (Thinking) If you want chocolate, here’s something that would be nice.  (Picking up a small box).  It’s a pig made of chocolate and you break it open for good luck.

Me: A pig?

Saleswoman: Yes, you break it open for good luck.

Me (?): This is for Chanukah.

Saleswoman: ?

Me: (Pause) Jewish people can not eat pork.

Saleswoman (serious): But it’s made of chocolate.

Me: (I ended the conversation, thanking her for her assistance)

Pig_portrait

Orion confectionery’s milk chocolate pig.

It links the Czech tradition of fasting before Christmas so as to be rewarded on the day with a plenitude-bringing golden pig, with the Slovakian idea that a golden pig guarantees good luck for New Year.

(I found my gold coins on the 7th by pure luck.)

7 thoughts on “Words from people’s mouths…(Chanukah candy)

  1. I love it when you share these conversations with us! My hand flew to my mouth when it got to the pig part. You are so good . .. glad you found what you needed!

Leave a Reply

