Building Blocks (…fallen angels)

abc_blocks.

Time molds vivid memories from one’s past into the building blocks of one’s writing…

.

In response to readers wanting another example of how I have used a Building Block in my writing, here’s an example.

While penning the fictional Through a Stranger’s Eyes in 2005, I had to develop a renewed/lasting relationship between Dave and Breen, and I wanted a common mental ‘anchor’ that existed between them.

Sitting at my local coffee café and penning away (always the poet), a Patty Loveless song came on.  I am a Patty Loveless fan and her songs have always talked about real life.  I thought about October 2001, I was in San Antonio, and after a Patty Loveless concert, I was able to go backstage for a ‘meet’n greet’.  While I was standing in line to meet her, I was thinking about negative comments I had heard back home concerning Patty Loveless’ decision to leave mainstream country music for bluegrass.  I doubt if she remembers what I said as she signed her photograph for me, “Be true to yourself and sing what you love to sing.”

Back to 2005, and I thought, ‘regardless of where Dave and Breen’s lives have traveled, it is never too late to ‘be true to yourself and sing what you love to sing.’

Thus:

***********************************

(Dave) “So we’re an ‘item’?”

(Breen) “I want us to be if you do.  I would have liked to tell Dave, the other one…guess it was obvious who I was referring to, uh…I would have liked to have quoted him a line from a Patty Loveless song.  He wanted the girl next door* What you are looking for is the one the middle.” *

(Breen) “…Dave, please don’t judge me for crossing mountains.” **  She lifted her head and looked into my eyes, calling out to me.

(Dave) Another reference to a Patty Loveless song, When Fallen Angels Fly.  I wondered if she knew I had worn out that CD.  “Yeah, we’ve both been wrong and right. **  We have both loved someone else and that should not be changed.”  Her head once more against my shoulder, I knew our relationship had grown stronger.  She was comfortable, secure.  It was a sense of security being with me; my being a part of her life.

(Through a Strangers Eyes is a work of fiction, copyright Steven S. Walsky 2005, all rights reserved.)

**************************************

* I’m That Kind of Girl, Matraca Berg/Ronnie Samoset

** When Fallen Angels Fly, Billy Joe Shaver

.

Think about your ‘building blocks’; we can not write without them.

4 thoughts on “Building Blocks (…fallen angels)

    • Thank you Maddie! Of course, there is a danger in doing these; readers of our fictional works, particularly people we personally know, may start to really wonder about a passage, ‘hummmmm, fiction is born out of reality?’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

