Building Blocks (Thank You Linda Ronstadt)

abc_blocks

Time molds vivid memories from one’s past into the building blocks of one’s writing…

.

Not sure how many of you remember the Panasonic Take-a-Tape 8 track tape player…well, I will always remember that yellow plastic box with the push down T-handle.  p8t

In 1975 I had to drive across country to Sierra Vista, Arizona, and my trusty 8 track sat in the bucket seat next to me in my El Camino; and it kept me company for eight weeks of military training.

 

1dBUT, far more important was the beautiful voice of Linda Ronstadt that filled the air around me.  Her songs were a life raft for a man who was a’sea in thoughts of a woman back on the East Coast; the woman who he desperately wanted to be with.  Of course being in Linda Ronstadt’s home territory only added to the experience.

Thank you Linda Ronstadt for your songs; they kept me sane while adrift in the sea of love.

 

Thank You Linda Ronstadt

 

Had to drive to southern Arizona

from the eastern ocean;

cross the mountains, rivers, and plains.

 

Even in the desert sun

my mind was still a’sea;

thoughts of the beautiful woman

who my heart she had won.

 

Thankfully, the songs I played

by one specific stunning voice,

filled not just the car,

no, Linda’s words filled

the lonesomeness in my heart.

I was not alone in the mysteries of love,

her voice so caressed.

 

Nine weeks later

driving back to the eastern ocean,

the music again saved me

from being lost in misery.

 

A lifetime it seemed

accepting those days and hours;

a lifetime of separateness,

lost in vivid memories

and visions of tomorrows.

 

I finally met my lady,

the woman of my dreams.

And as I held her in my arms

I silently thanked the singer

who’s beautiful, soulful voice

preserved my sanity.

 

(Thank You Linda Ronstadt, copyright 1976, Steven S. Walsky, all rights reserved.)

Think about your ‘building blocks’; we can not write without them.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Building Blocks (Thank You Linda Ronstadt)

  1. This is really beautiful, Steve, and she did have a gorgeous voice. I’m glad you were able to meet up with your lady, too…you’ll laugh, but for some silly reason, my husband still has his 8 track out in the garage. He never listens to it, but there are some things he doesn’t want to part with. Maybe this is normal as we get older, who knows? We also have albums and cassettes. 🙂

    • Thank you Lauren. OK, telling ages by tape. When I was first in college I had a show on the college radio station WBJC-FM and we had to use real-to-real tape or cue LPs (how to cue an LP was a test ‘question’ in Radio Production class). Then, someone made a fantastic decision and in 1967 they installed a stereo 8 track system.
      PS. These were the days when few people had FM radios and the station was classic music most of the day; except when I had my hour and opened my show with “In the white room with black curtains…”. The college faculty thought much of my music was uncivilized. They could accept Linda Ronstadt and the Stone Poneys; but Pink Floyd, the Doors, Iron Butterfly, Cream, Deep Purple, and the Grateful Dead were ‘the downfall of humanity’. 😉

    • You’re very welcome Thom, and thank you for the nice comment. I went to your blog, The Immortal Jukebox, and a post on Bob Dylan prompted the post I hope to go live with tomorrow morning EST (6/9/14); barring any more computer issues that I have been experiencing. I have referenced your blog in the post.

Leave a Reply

