My limerick must have been napping

15552-illustration-of-a-yellow-smiley-face-tsWell folks, I recently found out that the limerick below, my entry for the November/December 2014 Saturday Evening Post limerick contest, did not even earn an honorable mention.  After reading the published entries, my only explanation is that in my rush to enter I thought it was a picture of a girl? 🙂  Nevertheless, I want to thank Esther Newton for posting about the contest and other market ideas for writers.

Any who/what/why/when/where, here is my limerick describing J.C. Leyendecker’s illustration After Turkey Nap.

Thanksgiving dinner was pure bliss

Turkey with gravy can’t miss

However the wish bone was left unbroken

‘Cause the pumpkin pie had spoken

And dreams now her mind do kiss

Limerick by Steven S. Walsky, November 19, 2014.

LimericPic

Why not give it a try and write a limerick for the next contest.

4 thoughts on “My limerick must have been napping

Leave a Reply

