Building Blocks (“…my dad is not going to be home.”)

my dad is not going to be home

(Continued)  Eventually we reached our house, and the nice Midas man carried some packages inside for my mom.  So, there we were, all standing just inside the house.   I looked outside, and was thinking about sled riding down our nice snow covered street, when I heard my mom thank the gentleman and tell him that she hoped he had a safe drive home.  Before the man could answer, I voiced a very polite suggestion, “Why don’t you stay here, my dad is not going to be home.”

My mom’s quick, unequivocal response surprised me; she said thank you again, and almost shoved the man out the door.  Then she looked at me with a ‘that was cute’ glare.  Twenty years later, whenever we passed a Midas Muffler shop, my mom would remind me of that childhood ooops.  And I would remind my dad that he missed the snow because he had to spend two weeks with his Naval Reserve ship in warm, sunny Puerto Rico.

Heavy snow in February 1958 brought this tree down on a car across from our family store in Roland Park. (Baltimore Sun photo by Ralph Dohme).

Heavy snow in February 1958 brought this tree down on a car across from our family store in Roland Park. (Baltimore Sun photo by Ralph Dohme).

In 1956, The Muffler Installation Dealers’ Associated Service (M-I-D-A-S) was established by Nate H. Sherman; and Hugh Landrum opened the first Midas muffler franchise shop in Macon, Georgia that year. brand The chain was originally known as Midas Muffler as they specialized in the replacement of mufflers.

Think about your ‘building blocks’; we can not write without them.

2 thoughts on “Building Blocks (“…my dad is not going to be home.”)

Leave a Reply

