Building Blocks (poem ‘A Raccoon Odyssey’)

abc_blocks

Time molds vivid memories from one’s past into the building blocks of one’s writing…

As mentioned in the Building Block post Squirrel Attack Poem, our interface, or possibly a time of ‘in-your-face’, with nature can be inspirational to a writer.  Think about how nature took the upper hand and left you with wonderful story fodder… or almost being animal fodder.

Having spent endless hours in the woods behind my house, I was, at least in my mind, by eleven years old well aware of the haunts of nature; and of course I had that wonderful experience with a vicious squirrel, as I mentioned above.  I was especially well aware of the danger from raccoons.  I saw firsthand on one too many occasions how a raccoon’s sharp claws dealt with a nosey dog; not to mention dreaded rabies.  Thus, at eleven I knew I had to be careful when I went on my first Boy Scout campout. However, I was eleven, and who listens to adults anyway.

We had a great day and it was time to say adios to the stars.  Being tired from all that fun, it did not take long to fall asleep.  Sometime after midnight I was woken by a rustling sound inside the tent.  Being well versed in vampire and extra-terrestrial movies, I knew not to leap up.  I slowly opened my eyes.  And there in front of my face was the rear end of a raccoon; a big one.

The raccoon was apparently about to enjoy the Oreo cookies I had left out next to my sleeping area.  With cookie in hand, the raccoon backed up and started using my face as a pillow.  I knew not to move; as the last thing I wanted was for the obviously comfortable critter to swing around and rip my face open.  Thankfully my breathing did scare — nor deter — the raccoon from its snack time; so I remained motionless for at least seventy-six hours…OK, about two minutes…until the varmint had its fill and waddled away.

Photo from WikipediA

Photo from WikipediA

I learned two things that night, don’t keep food in your tent, and raccoons do not say thank you when they eat your food.

A Raccoon Odyssy

Think about your ‘building blocks’; we can not write without them.

15 thoughts on “Building Blocks (poem ‘A Raccoon Odyssey’)

      • This story reminded me of a camping trip I went on….It was evening, and I was sitting by the camfire. A skunk decided to sit down right under my stadium chair. FOR TWO HOURS! I was terrified to move. It seemed a bit on edge…..when it left, I was quite relieved. Maybe I should always carry Oreos, too. 😀

  1. I have raccoons out here every night…
    when I first moved out here I had a mom and pop one..
    they were friendly for some reason, would even eat with the cats, deer, and dogs and a opposum or two…
    the past year…Rocky and mom are gone I learned alot watching them with their little ones…
    the ones that are here now are mean..they fight…have a horrible cry…
    I just listen, no need to go out and observe….
    I so enjoyed your encounter….I hope I would have stayed so still…
    Great post Steve…
    Take Care..
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Thank you, appreciate your comment. I too have observed many a cute raccoon; even ones people have had as pets. Nevertheless, I always remember that animals in the wild have the metaphor ‘wild’ for a reason 🙂

Leave a comment